Every state has different rules regarding earning a commission to become a notary public, so if you have lived in another state and are familiar with the rules there, you may be curious as to what is required in Florida. Although Florida is similar to other states, there are a few differences that you need to understand.
The basic qualifications
Like other states, you will need to meet certain minimum requirements, or your notary application florida will be rejected. You must be at least 18 years old and reside legally in the state of Florida. You cannot have any felony convictions on your record, and like other states, you need to be proficient in the English language.
You need to take a course
If you meet the basic requirements, you must then learn how to do the job of a notary. This is where Florida is different from other states. They require you to take a course before you apply for your commission. The good news is that the course is free, it can be done online, and it only takes about three hours to complete. You will earn a certificate of completion that will need to be included with your application.
The surety bond
Every state requires you to have a bond as a form of insurance in the event that you make a mistake that results in a financial loss. The state of Florida requires a $7,500 bond, but don’t panic, you only pay a small fraction of the bond. Typically, this is about $40. You will need to send evidence of your bond purchase with your application.
This is all that is required. You will need to send payment for the application fee. Along with the application, you will need to include proof of a surety bond and your certificate that you completed the course. After you get approval to be a notary in the state of Florida, you will still need a few basic supplies. Of course, the most important will be a notary stamp. There are many companies online that sell these supplies.…